State of

Mato Grosso Mato Grosso

Mato Grosso

Add to Favorites Remove from Favorites
Mato Grosso is one of Brazil's 27 Federative Units

Mato Grosso has a cultural identity based on the integration of South American Indians, afro and euro-descendants and immigrants from various places in Brazil.

In the capital city of Cuiabá and other cities like Cáceres, Poconé and Diamantino, the architectural heritage presents part of the history of the State in areas such as cultural centers and museums.

The Araguaia River attracts people interested in observing the fauna and who enjoy sport fishing. Besides exotic animals, indigenous villages, caves and waterfalls, one of the attractions that can be enjoyed in the region is the Bananal Island, the largest fluvial island in the world, on the border between Mato Grosso and Tocantins.

Located 64 km from the capital, is the Chapada dos Guimarães National Park, a unit of conservation with a great landscape variation, and scenarios that range from clean fields, where grass vegetation predominates, and even the cerradão, where there are larger trees.

But, without doubt, the Pantanal is the main attraction of Mato Grosso. Declared a Heritage of Humanity by Unesco, the biome is the largest seasonal flood plain in the world and is the main wildlife sanctuary in South America, taking in the huge biodiversity of ecosystems that surround it (Amazon rainforest, Caatinga, Cerrado, Atlantic forest and Chaco Boliviano)

The alternation between dry and humid periods causes the Pantanal landscape to change constantly and makes the region one of the most beautiful spectacles on Earth.

Mato Grosso is one of Brazil's 27 Federative Units